An independent, free resource for local government IT buyers. Not affiliated with any government or vendor.
What Towns PayWhat towns actually paid for software, AI & IT
Software: Permitting, Licensing & Code Enforcement · Agenda & Meeting Management · ERP & Finance · Website CMS · Open Data & Transparency · Public Safety Tech (ALPR, Body Cams) · Microsoft 365 & CopilotAI: AI Tools & Copilots · AI Chatbots & 311IT Infrastructure & Services: Cybersecurity · SOC & MDR (Managed Detection & Response) · IT Training & Security Awareness · Networking · Computer Hardware · Managed IT Services (MSP) · Backup & Disaster Recovery · Phone & VoIP Systems

AI Tools & Copilots: what local governments paid

General-purpose AI for staff and operations: ChatGPT Enterprise, standalone Microsoft 365 Copilot pilots, Google Gemini, government LLM platforms, AI meeting notes, and AI camera/video analytics. Resident-facing chatbots are under AI Chatbots & 311.

7 records · 4 states · stated/derived annual cost ranges $16,500 – $852,000. Vendors: City Detect, GovAI, IBM, Microsoft, OpenAI.

See also: AI Chatbots & 311 (4) · Microsoft 365 & Copilot (9)

Category sponsorship available. Sponsors are clearly labeled and never affect which records appear or how they're shown. Learn more

City of Dallas, TX — City Detect

AI-powered camera technology (100 cameras on sanitation trucks) for Sanitation and Code Compliance: 3-yr service contract
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$2,556,000 (3-yr estimated amount (+1-yr renewal option))
Annual cost
$852,000 (stated per year)
Term (years)
3
Date
2025-12-10 (Council consideration date)
Status
Approved (Legistar 25-3339A)
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
Derived: $8,520 per camera per year, all-in. Sole source. Flags illegal dumping, graffiti, structural deterioration; staff review every flag (no automatic citations). Resolution: https://cityofdallas.legistar.com/gateway.aspx?M=L&ID=22928
Source
Primary (city manager memo to council) · record TSP-0089

City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, LA — City Detect

AI blight detection: 5 vehicle-mounted data collection cameras + analysis (10/1/2026-12/31/2029)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$549,000 (NTE over ~3.25 years)
Annual cost
$168,923 (derived average)
Term (years)
3.25
Date
2026-10-14 (Metropolitan Council meeting date)
Status
Memo to Metropolitan Council (recommended)
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
Derived: ~$33,785 per camera per year (5 cameras). Compare Dallas at $8,520/camera/yr with 100 cameras: a big volume effect. Staff manually review all flags.
Source
Primary (department memo) · record TSP-0090

City of Andover, KS — GovAI

GovAI Enterprise (government AI/LLM platform with PII redaction, SSO/SCIM, custom assistants)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$19,250 (NTE (Nov-Dec 2025 $2,750 + 2026 $16,500))
Annual cost
$16,500 (2026 annual price, locked for 4 renewals)
Term (years)
1
Date
2025-10-28
Status
Recommended
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
List price $29,950/yr less $13,450 early-partner discount. Memo says it is about half the price of ChatGPT or Copilot. Per-user count not stated.
Source
Primary (staff memo + order form) · record TSP-0076

City of Dallas, TX — IBM

Generative AI and data governance as a service for the city's data aggregation platform (Supplemental Agreement No. 8)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$745,305 (One-time NTE increase (contract total to $5,898,567.51))
Date
2024-06-01 (Legistar intro date)
Status
Approved
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
Large-city benchmark; no unit pricing in title.
Source
Primary (Legistar legislation title via public Web API) · record TSP-0091

Montgomery County, MD — Microsoft

Copilot 365 pilot program: 300 Microsoft 365 Copilot licenses + employee training (supplemental appropriation #25-29)
Medium confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$308,000 (FY25 supplemental appropriation (licenses + training))
Date
2025-01-14 (Council introduction / public hearing set)
Status
Introduced (supplemental appropriation)
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
UNCERTAIN unit price: appropriation bundles licenses with a dedicated trainer, so a per-license price is not stated. Upper bound derived ~$1,027/user including training.
Source
Primary (council staff packet) · record TSP-0088

Williamson County, TX — OpenAI

ChatGPT Enterprise licenses for county staff (MSA #2025268, Quote 55405389)
Medium confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$70,560 (NTE per fiscal year (term 6/30/2025-6/30/2026))
Annual cost
$70,560
Term (years)
1
Date
2025-07-15
Status
Approved by Commissioners Court
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
UNCERTAIN unit price: the MSA states the $70,560 NTE but the quote exhibit is not in the public PDF. The 150-license count comes from local news (Community Impact, 7/22/2025); if correct, ~$470.40/license/yr (derived).
Source
Primary (master services agreement) · record TSP-0087

City of Plano, TX — OpenAI

Citywide AI package: ChatGPT Enterprise (150-license minimum), Microsoft Teams Premium AI recaps, Darwin AI governance platform
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
Contract amount
$390,000 (NTE package (ChatGPT up to $190,000; Teams Premium $10,000; Darwin AI $150,000; $40,000 reserve))
Annual cost
$57,024 (ChatGPT Enterprise 150 licenses, estimated annual)
Date
2026-10-12 (Agenda date)
Status
Consent agenda (recommended)
Category
AI Tools & Copilots
Notes
Derived: ~$380.16 per ChatGPT Enterprise license per year ($57,024 / 150). Teams Premium stated at ~$10/user/month. Darwin AI licensing + implementation est. $150,000.
Source
Primary (agenda item memo, Legistar 26-884) · record TSP-0086